Dinner debate

Two young ladies dished out sizzling questions about society during my Sunday night soiree.

Not a bad dinner date.

Over burgers and fries, the enlightening sweethearts threw out a startling first question about my stance on abortion. They had just deftly caught on to my political conversation with Blake, my long-time friend and their uncle. They wanted in. 

With Jameson on my palette, I smirked a little in surprise and replied to Madison, the 12-year-old interviewer. “I believe in respecting every one’s rights.”

The seventh-grader made sly eye contact, calmly noded and threw back the often-ignored curveball nuance of the importance of choice in rape cases.

A complexity not often understood by adults. Wow. I dig this girl.

Madison then sought off-the-cuff opinions on the worst attributes for McCain and Palin? … Hmm. I thought. … She quickly reasoned and tossed out Palin’s lack of experience as the source of her effusive dislike for the governor.

Then Devree, the curious fifth-grader, led with a question her teacher once posed to Obama. During a campaign rally, as 11-year-old tells it, the teacher asked about disability care and health insurance. The smooth storyteller delivered with a poise of understanding.

Later, it shifted back to Madison, who doubted why Alaska was even a state and touched on her skepticism toward Russia and China.

“Why don’t you like Russia and China?” I asked.

“Because I’m scared.”

“What else are you scared of?”

“Spiders.”

I mean, how adorable are they?

G

One response to “Dinner debate

  1. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Kate

    http://educationonline-101.com

Leave a Reply

